Whom Shall I Fear?

“The LORD is my light and my salvation; Whom shall I fear? The LORD is the defense of my life; Whom shall I dread?” (Psalm 27:1)

“The Lord is my Light.” The most obvious meaning of light is that it drives away darkness. We go into a darkened room and turn on the light and the darkness disappears. Light drives away the dark. Light cannot be overcome by the darkness, when there is light all is visible. Solomon symbolized light as righteousness. “But the path of the righteous is like the light of dawn, That shines brighter and brighter until the full day.” (Proverbs 4:18) As we grow in the light we become brighter as the shifting shadows of our sinful nature are driven away. God’s word is the light that brings us to life. “In Him was life, and the life was the Light of men.” (John 1:4) God’s Word is powerful and if we act on it in faith it will transform us from the darkened creatures that we are to the righteous creatures that God created us to be. Paul in his letter to the Philippian Church likens God’s children to lights in a perverse world that people may see the truth shining through them. “So that you will prove yourselves to be blameless and innocent, children of God above reproach in the midst of a crooked and perverse generation, among whom you appear as lights in the world.” (Philippians 2:15)

Jesus used light as a picture of the good works that His followers do through their faith that others may see and glorify the Father of lights in heaven. “Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.” (Matthew 5:16) When Jesus lives through us His light radiates through us that those around us my see the glory of His Father shining through us.

Jesus came into the world as God’s witness to testify of God’s light. Jesus testified to the Roman governor that He had come to testify of the truth, the truth of God’s Word that men might find life through Him. “You say correctly that I am a king. For this I have been born, and for this I have come into the world, to testify to the truth. Everyone who is of the truth hears My voice.” (John 18:37) Jesus is the way and through Him we can abide in the Father. He is the truth and by His truth we can find life. “I am the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through Me.” (John 14:6) The light of Jesus dispels that darkness and those who believe in Him come out of the darkness into His glorious light. “I have come as Light into the world, so that everyone who believes in Me will not remain in darkness.” (John 12:46)

The Lord is my salvation. He is the stronghold that none can shake. “The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, My God, my rock, in whom I take refuge; My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.” (Psalm 18:2) There is no power can take that away from us, and none can separate us from the love of God our Heavenly Father. “For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing, will be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 8:38-39)

Salvation is the gift of God through His grace that we can have eternal life through His Son Jesus Christ. “For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God.” (Ephesians 2:8) If we would only believe on the name of Jesus and follow Him through faith He will lead us to eternal glory in the Kingdom of God. “That if you confess with your mouth Jesus as Lord, and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved; for with the heart a person believes, resulting in righteousness, and with the mouth he confesses, resulting in salvation.” (Romans 10:9-10)

Who then shall we fear? What power is greater than the Creator? If we are in the hand of the Father, then what could take us away? “My Father, who has given them to Me, is greater than all; and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand.” (John 10:29) Shall we fear Satan? Who is he but a fallen angel that is bound for the fiery pit? Even he is subject to the Word of God. “You believe that God is one. You do well; the demons also believe, and shudder.” (James 2:19) Another god, there are none. Nothing can pry us from the hand of our Heavenly Father. When we are in the loving presence of the Father no one can stand against us. “What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who is against us?” (Romans 8:31).

The Lord is our defense as there is none that can stand against Him. The righteousness of Jesus will save us and He will hear our call. Just as the thief on the cross called and on that day he was in paradise with the Lord. “In Your righteousness deliver me and rescue me; Incline Your ear to me and save me.” (Psalm 371:2) He is our refuge as we will rest in His stronghold. “My lovingkindness and my fortress, My stronghold and my deliverer, My shield and He in whom I take refuge, Who subdues my people under me.” (Psalm 144:2)

In His power we can accomplish all things that He has set before us for the work of His Kingdom. Where the Lord guides He will provide. “I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.” (Philippians 4:13) Our Lord and Savior will overcome the Evil one to ever comes to steal, kill, and destroy. (John 10:10) “These will wage war against the Lamb, and the Lamb will overcome them, because He is Lord of lords and King of kings, and those who are with Him are the called and chosen and faithful.” (Revelation 17:14)

Whom shall we fear? The question is its own answer. Our adversary is not to be feared for the Lord is our light that drives away the darkness. The Gates of Hell will not prevail against the church, the bride of Christ because the Lord is our salvation.

Thomas N Kirkpatrick

First Baptist Church of Durant, June 29, 2016

wordpress analytics

