header_faith

The Master’s Enlightenment

“I will instruct you and teach you in the way which you should go; I will counsel you with My eye upon you.” (Psalm 32:8)

I was raised up, like most of us, in the house of my father. At an early age, before I could speak many words, I was baptized by the Presbyterian Church. They believe in infant baptism and I see that as a covenant between the parents and the Church congregation to raise the child in the truth and instruction of God’s Word. It is a sacred vow made in the presence of God and many witnesses, His children. A commitment to attain the spiritual maturity of the child in the Church. “Fathers, do not provoke your children to anger, but bring them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord.” (Ephesians 6:4) The Church I believe fulfilled their commitment as best they could through Sunday School, Christian Education activities and good men in the Church who devoted their time to the youth.

My father was a pastor and other than at the evening devotional at supper time I only saw him when I was in trouble. Do not think that I was deprived. Because of I being me I saw my father regularly and not for the reasons that were the best. There were five of us kids in the brood and my father was committed to raising us up in the way that we should go through this world with the eternal world vision before us. My father was a strong man of trust in the Truth of God’s Word and by his faith counted the blessing of the Lord’s truth that would come in His time. Therefore, I grew in a home that was shielded from the ways of the world. My father believed this, “Train up a child in the way he should go, Even when he is old he will not depart from it.” (Proverbs 22:6) Because I was curious of the way others lived once free from the home I went straight to the far country for many years. From there, and I give God the glory, I proved that my father’s faith was not in vain for today I am a Child of God.

Sadly I stumbled through the maze of the world’s amusement park, but the word of my father, who always spoke directly or from the “Good Book” would come into my mind. Whether I was turning to the left or the right the Word of God was always speaking to me from the thoughts that my father placed into my mind. I am not going to reveal a personal testimony, as it is not complete, but I will share this with you. As I was living my life my way I was beginning to realize that I was losing it. What I thought was satisfying always left me hungry, what was fun vanished as soon as the game ended, and although I always had money my want for it was always gluttonous. Then my father’s words of advice from many years before came into a present reality. “If you guard your life for the pleasure of this world, you will lose it. But if you give your life for the service of those in this world you will find it.” I had thought about those words many times but it never made sense to me until I found where my father found it, in the “Good Book.He who has found his life will lose it, and he who has lost his life for My sake will find it.” (Matthew 10:39)

Today I do not stumble as much through the maze of the world’s amusement park. Neither am I there for the satisfaction of my old worldly desire, as the vision that I have is far grander. I do not come to play but to serve my Lord and my brothers and sisters in the world. I do not barter for things that have no value but reach for that awaits me in my eternal home. I used to be a short sighted one only able to see to the horizon of a day or two and making plans for a week end of frolic. Now instead of living beneath the question mark I live now in the amazement of eternal vision from the Master who enlightens my path with His instruction and guidance that He has placed before me.

This world is not where any of us we meant to remain indefinitely. We are but sojourners through the wilderness venturing to the Promised Land of our Heavenly Father’s glory. Do you know the way? The answer is plain to see, easy to find, and ready to receive. “Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through Me.” (John 14:6) Jesus came that though Him we may be redeemed for the Father. Through Jesus we have been reconciled to the Father that we could have a fellowship with Him our Creator. “Now all these things are from God, who reconciled us to Himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation.” (2 Corinthians 5:18) Jesus is the way, we can only be reconciled to God through His atoning blood that washes away our debt of sin and allows us to be seen by God in the righteousness of His Son Jesus Christ.

Jesus is the grace of God which demonstrates His love for us. Jesus is the Word of God, (John 1:1) and therefore is the truth of God. We serve Him because He has purchased us through the sacrifice of His blood on the tree of Calvary. It is not that we loved Him but that He loved us. “But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” (Romans 5:8) We follow Him because His words are truth, because He loves us, and His words lead to life. “Simon Peter answered Him, “Lord, to whom shall we go? You have words of eternal life.” (John 6:68)

His Word is truth and they are the words that we can trust and walk in faith with. Through Him all things were made and all things hold together through Him. “For by Him all things were created, both in the heavens and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities–all things have been created through Him and for Him. He is before all things, and in Him all things hold together.” (Colossians 1:16-17) No one knows better how to navigate through this world and the eternity that even now we are in than the author and finisher of that creation we are a part of. If we desire the victory that is our though Him, then we must trust and obey His Word. “If you love Me, you will keep My commandments.” (John 14:15) We serve Him because He first served us on the cross. He paid the price that is rightfully ours that through Him we may have the gift of eternal life. We have that now, it is a promise from the faithful and true One. But, we must follow Him so that we can overcome this world. “If anyone serves Me, he must follow Me; and where I am, there My servant will be also; if anyone serves Me, the Father will honor him.” (John 12:26)

Jesus is the life and through Him we have that life abundantly. Everything that we do in service to Him and our fellow man has eternal value that holds a reward that far exceeds the sacrifices that we make. “And everyone who has left houses or brothers or sisters or father or mother or children or farms for My name’s sake, will receive many times as much, and will inherit eternal life.” (Matthew 19:29) Many set out on the road to here and there but the road to the Kingdom of God is not a road that is traveled alone for we are following Jesus and He is there preparing the path that we should go. “I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you.” (John 14:18) All that we need do on the narrow path to the Kingdom of Heaven is call upon Him and He will lead our steps. “Trust in the LORD with all your heart And do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He will make your paths straight.” (Proverbs 3:5-6)

The follower of Jesus is on the greatest adventure and is living in the abundance of His provision sojourning to the Land of Promise where the riches of His Father’s glory await them. Vast as the journey is it is not a perplexing venture but one in which we can have confidence confidence in our guide. He is never far, He is closer than a brother, He is as close as the breath that travels within us, and He is in communion with our spirit constantly. He will teach us all truth and remind us of all that has been taught that we can march confidently towards the mark of our high calling in Christ Jesus. “But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all that I said to you.” (John 14:26)

When you have a good thing, a great thing, the very best thing you have a hunger and thirst for it and a desire in your heart to receive more and more of it. When you are living the abundant life, the righteous life, and the life of satisfaction in service for a worthy cause, there will be no fear that it will end. We have this promise from the Word of God, “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.” (Matthew 5:6)

Today I do not stumble through the maze of the world’s amusement park. My only fear is the fear of the Lord in that all I do I do with the purpose of pleasing Him who has given me the very best. I no longer walk beneath the question mark but march towards the mark of the prize that He has set before me. It is not an impossible task as He leads me every step of the way assuring the victory is mine through Him. That does not mean that my life is easy but the sacrifices I make are deposits of treasure in the home I am marching to. It is a secure walk in the Master’s Enlightenment, an eternal loving bliss. “But whoever drinks of the water that I will give him shall never thirst; but the water that I will give him will become in him a well of water springing up to eternal life.” (John 4:14)

Thomas N Kirkpatrick

Durant Bible College, September 17, 2015

wordpress analytics

