puddle

Need A Friend

O IT’S BEEN A LONG TIME, MANY YEARS AGO
WHEN I WALKED ANOTHER LAND, I DIDN’T KNOW
IT WAS NOT OF THIS WORLD, CALLED IT “THE NAM”
THERE I LEFT A PART OF ME, NOW DON’T KNOW WHO I AM
 
O I LOVED MY BROTHER, IN ARMS I HELD THAT DAY
AS I CRIED THE BITTER TEARS, HIS LIFE PASSED AWAY
IF YOU SEE THE ANSWER, SHOW IT TO ME NOW
WHAT COULD HAVE BEEN THE REASON, I MISSED IT SOME HOW
 
ALL ALONE AND MOVING ON, GOT NO TIME TO BE BLUE
LEARNED NOT TO NEED A FRIEND, BUT I’M SURE NEEDING ONE LIKE YOU
 
I’VE SEEN BRAVE MEN HUMBLE, WHEN CAUGHT IN THEIR PLIGHT
O I’VE SEEN COWARDS STUMBLE, AND THEN TURN TO FIGHT
I’VE SEEN THE STRONG WILL BEND, AT BLOODS FIRST SIGHT
BUT I COULD NEVER BELIEVE, IN THE DARK OF THE NIGHT
 
O I’VE SEEN SPIRITS SOAR, RIGHT UP TO THE SKY
AS THEIR BODIES LAY, AND SCREAM THEIR LAST FAREWELL CRY
THE SACRED UNION SPLIT, WHEN BRAVE MEN DIE
ALL I EVER WANT TO KNOW, IS THE REASON WHY
 
ALL ALONE AND MOVING ON, GOT NO TIME TO BE BLUE
LEARNED NOT TO NEED A FRIEND, BUT I’M SURE NEEDING ONE LIKE YOU
 
I LIVE INSIDE MY WALL, BUILT IT TALL AND WIDE
BUILT IT TO KEEP THE PAIN OUT, IT’S MY PLACE TO HIDE
LOST IN AN EMPTY ROOM, CAN’T FIND MY WAY OUT
I WISH I COULD OPEN UP, LET GO OF MY DOUBT
 
SOME FRIENDS LIVE IN MEMORY, SOME LIVE IN MY DREAM
I’M SO INVISIBLE NOW, I PASS THROUGH UNSEEN
WHERE IS MY COMPASSION, DID I LOOSE MY LOVE
DID I LEAVE IT LOST BACK THERE, AND WHO DO I THINK OF
 
ALL ALONE AND MOVING ON, GOT NO TIME TO BE BLUE
LEARNED NOT TO NEED A FRIEND, BUT I’M SURE NEEDING ONE LIKE YOU

CAN I JUST NOT BE FOUND, CAN I NOT BE SEEN
AND I JUST GOT TO FIND OUT, WHAT I REALLY MEAN
INSIDE I AM SEARCHING, A TRUST TO BE FOUND
BUT WHEN I START TO GET UP, THERE’S NONE TO BE FOUND
 
IF I PUT FAITH IN YOU, WOULD YOU KEEP IT TRUE
CAUSE I THINK WE’RE THE SAME, YOU ARE SEARCHING TOO
CAUSE I’M A PRISONER, CAUGHT IN MY OWN SPITE
I NEED SOMEONE TO HELP ME, MAKE IT THROUGH THE NIGHT
 
ALL ALONE AND MOVING ON, GOT NO TIME TO BE BLUE
LEARNED NOT TO NEED A FRIEND, BUT I SURE NEEDING ONE LIKE YOU

Thomas N Kirkpatrick

2001

wordpress analytics

