puddle

Moving On

I’M JUST A WANDERER OUT HERE UPON THE ROAD
WITH A POCKET FULL OF MEMORIES I CARRY FOR MY LOAD
YOU’LL ALWAYS KNOW WHO I AM BY THE WAY I POINT MY THUMB
IT’S ALWAYS POINTED THE OPPOSITE FROM THE WAY THAT I HAVE COME
MOVING ON, YES I’VE GOT TO KEEP ON MOVING, MOVING ON
EVERYONE I SEE IS TELLING ME TO KEEP ON MOVING ON
 
I HAVE BEEN TO THE CITY AND BEEN SO LONELY THERE
OH SO MANY FACES AND PLACES BUT NO ONE WANTS TO SHARE
I AM JUST AN OUTSIDER WHO KEEPS TRYING TO GET IN
THEY SAY I MUST KEEP ON GOING AND DON’T CARE BOUT WHERE I=VE BEEN
MOVING ON, YES I’VE GOT TO KEEP ON MOVING, MOVING ON
EVERYONE I SEE IS TELLING ME TO KEEP ON MOVING ON
 
I THINK OF THE HOME I LEFT IT MAKES ME WANT TO CRY
MUST HAVE BEEN A REASON SO PLEASING BUT I DON’T KNOW WHY
FELT A NEED TO SEE THE LAND BUT THE DREAM IS GONE SOMEHOW
I TORE MY ROOTS UPON THE ROAD I’VE NO HOME TO GO TO NOW
MOVING ON, YES I’VE GOT TO KEEP ON MOVING, MOVING ON
EVERYONE I SEE IS TELLING ME TO KEEP ON MOVING ON
 
SOMEDAY I THINK I SHALL FIND A PLACE TO CALL MY OWN
BECAUSE I DON=T WANT TO BURN MY YEARN TO LET MY SEED BE SOWN
THERE IS A PLACE I BELIEVE WHERE PEOPLE SAY COME ON IN
AND I KNOW I WILL BE THERE WHEN NONE SAY KEEP ON MOVING
TILL THEN, YES I’VE GOT TO KEEP ON MOVING, MOVING ON
EVERYONE I SEE IS TELLING ME TO KEEP ON MOVING ON

Thomas N Kirkpatrick

2001

wordpress analytics

