puddle

“JO’S SONG”

LONG DISTANCE LOVE, NEVER DOES ALL I’M WANTING
STILL MY HUNGER NEVER SLEEPS
ALL OF MY HOPE, DRIVES ALL MY DREAMING
YET ALL THE WHILE MY HEART WEEPS
LOOK AT US ALL, IN HERE WE ARE YEARNING
TRYING TO FIND SOMETHING THAT IS REAL
 
WORDS FROM THE AIR, ENTER IN SO GENTLY
A MYSTERIOUS HEART WHICH SPEAKS
I REST MY FAITH, UPON THESE WORDS SO INTENTLY
FOR A LOVE MY HEART ALWAYS SEEKS
LOOK AT US ALL, TOO MANY HERE JUST PLAYING
HOW SHALL I KNOW SOMETHING IS REAL
 
WAS IT JUST ANOTHER ONE OF MY FANTASIES
LIKE SO MANY I’VE HAD BEFORE
DID I ALLOW MYSELF TO BE TAKEN IN SO EASILY
LEFT HERE ALONE AND SO UNSURE
 
I WATCH AS YOU COME, THE EXCITEMENT I AM LEARNING
ALL THAT I NEED IS TO FEEL
I WATCH AS YOU GO, I TRY TO BE DISCERNING
BUT HOLDING SO CLOSE TO YOUR APPEAL
LOOK AT US ALL, TOO MANY HEARTS HERE ARE BLEEDING
WHY DON’T THEY KNOW THE PAIN IS REAL
 
WORDS WITHOUT SOUND, IS THIS WHAT I’M HEARING
THOUGHTS I HAVE BURIED INSIDE OF ME
TOUCH WITHOUT FEEL, THE PASSION GOES ON BURNING
YET FROM THE COLDNESS I’M NOT FREE
LOOK AT US ALL, FORMLESS ON THE SCREEN
WHY DO WE BELIEVE THIS FANTASY TO BE REAL?
 
IS IT ALL PART OF THE MADNESS I’M LIVING IN
SEEMS THAT I’M ALWAYS THE FOOL WHO’S GIVING IN
WAS IT JUST ANOTHER LOVE LOST IN THE SUN
BECAUSE IT’S GONE NOW THAT THE NIGHT IS DONE

THOMAS N KIRKPATRICK

March 20, 1998

wordpress analytics

