puddle

Hitch Hiker

 

I STAKED OUT MY GROUND, STUCK OUT MY THUMB
I’M A HITCHHIKING ROAD MAN, I AIN’T NO BUM
COMING FROM THE EAST, I’M WESTWARD BOUND
GOT TO GET TO TULSA, BEFORE THE SUN GOES DOWN
 
NO AS I TRAVEL ON, WHAT AM I TO DO
THEY GOT A BIG SIGN, EVERY PLACE I GO TO
WRITTEN ON THE DOOR, IN BIG BOLD LETTERS
NO SHIRT, NO SHOES AND NO HITCHHIKERS
 
NOW A CAR STOPS, PULLS OVER TO THE SIDE
I SAY I’M GOING TO TULSA, THANKS FOR THE RIDE
HE CAN HELP ME, BUT NOT VERY FAR
HE’S GOING TO THE CORNER, TO PUT GAS IN THE CAR
 
I GUESS I’LL MAKE IT, TO TULSA OK
THERE’S STILL A FEW PEOPLE, WHO FEEL THE SAME WAY
WHERE I AM COMING FROM, THEY HAVE BEEN
THEY UNDERSTAND THE, SITUATION I AM IN
 
I KEEP HOPPING, FOR THE BIG RIDE
THE ONE THAT WILL TAKE ME, TO THE OTHER SIDE
TILL THEN I’LL BE THUMBING, GOT A LOT OF TIME
I JUST STAND HERE WAITING, DREAMING ABOUT WHAT’S NOT MINE
 
THE PEOPLE THEY WILL LOOK, OUT OF THE CORNER OF THEIR EYE
SOME THEY WILL WAVE, AS THEY PASS ON BY
SOME THEY WILL STOP, JUST TO SEE ME RUN
THEY SEEM TO THINK, THIS IS SO MUCH FUN

Thomas N Kirkpatrick

2001

wordpress analytics

