puddle

Highway Drifter

I’VE ALWAYS BEEN A HIGH RIDE’N DRIFTER,
UPON THE AMERICAN ROAD
FREE FROM THE BURDEN OF THE TIME CLOCK,
IT’S THE LONELINESS THAT IS MY LOAD
 
ALWAYS RUNNING FROM ONE TOWN TO ANOTHER,
DON’T STAY ANYWHERE TOO LONG
I THINK OF LOST LOVE AND DREAM OF NEW LOVE,
AND SING THE WORDS OF A SAD SONG
 
MY LOVE HAS ALWAYS BEEN THE HIGHWAY,
IT SHALL ALWAYS BE SO IT SEEMS
BACK IN MY YOUTH I MISPLACED MY TRUTH,
AND GOT CAUGHT IN MY CHILDHOOD DREAM
 
THERE ARE TIMES THAT I HAVE SETTLED DOWN,
TO FORGET ABOUT THE LIFE I LEAD
THE THRILL OF GOING, JOY OF RETURNING,
ARE FEELINGS I SO MUCH NEED
 
BUT THE PAIN OF FAREWELL WEIGHS HEAVY,
FROM THE LOVED ONE’S I’VE LEFT AND ARE GONE
I MUST BE WHO I WAS BORN TO BE,
A DRIFTER WHO MUST ALWAYS RUN ON
 
MY LOVE HAS ALWAYS BEEN THE HIGHWAY,
IT SHALL ALWAYS BE SO IT SEEMS
BACK IN MY YOUTH I MISPLACED MY TRUTH,
AND GOT CAUGHT IN MY CHILDHOOD DREAM
 
IN MY SPIRIT I SEARCH FOR THE ANSWER,
OF WHO IT IS I SHOULD BE
ALWAYS ALONE WITH A HUNGER FOR HOME,
BUT BORN TO BE RUNNING FREE
 
THE LIKE OF A ROAD DRIVER ARE SPECIAL,
TO CARRY ON IN SEARCH OF YOUR OWN WAY
ONCE A DROVER ALWAYS A ROVER,
IT STILL IS THE DREAM OF THIS CHILD TODAY
 
MY LOVE HAS ALWAYS BEEN THE HIGHWAY,
IT SHALL ALWAYS BE SO IT SEEMS
BACK IN MY YOUTH I MISPLACED MY TRUTH,
AND GOT CAUGHT IN MY CHILDHOOD DREAM
 

Thomas N Kirkpatrick

2001

wordpress analytics

