puddle

I’ve been ride ’n since mid-night
On a trail that soon must end
Ride ‘n a horse named destiny
I’m running from my best friend

My eyes burning from the dust
On a horse that won’t give in
And he is still chasing me
His duty to bring me in

They call him Marshall Colby
And his sister is my wife
If he takes me back to Van Horn
First he’ll have to take my life

A poker game in Van Horn
And I held the winning hand
Called a bottom deck dealer
But I had the quicker hand

As the smoke filled the bar room
Took the money in my hand
A poker playing preacher
I sent to the Promised Land

I’ll ride as long as I must
It’s who’s horse has the most life
If he takes me back to Van Horn
First he’ll have to take my life

No I don’t want to face him
I’ll ride to the very end
I know my draw is quicker
But I can’t shoot my best friend

He’s always been my better
In everything he’s done
I could never let myself
Fall by the draw of his gun

So I must keep on riding
My destiny my horse’s life
So ride me far from Van Horn
Or he’ll have to take my life

Thomas N Kirkpatrick
2001

wordpress analytics

