header_faith

The Doctrine of the Trinity

This fundamental belief in the Christian faith is by faith in the fullness of its meaning. There is no single verse in the bible that points directly to this doctrine. We have to accept this truth entirely on faith. This truth can be summed up in one simple statement, “One God in three persons.”

There are verses in the bible that strongly imply the truth of this belief. In Geneses the first indication is found in Geneses 1:26 where it says, “Let Us make man in Our image, according to Our likeness.” “Us”, refers to the trinity of the Godhead, the Father, The Son, and the Holy Spirit. This is a concept that is hard to understand and I don’t think we at this present time are capable to fully comprehend it.

Considering the wonders of God and His creation there is much that we will not be able to comprehend while here on earth. In Isaiah 55:8-9 God tells us that we will not be able to fully understand Him. “For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,” declares the LORD. “For as the heavens are higher than the earth, So are My ways higher than your ways And My thoughts than your thoughts.”

Man has been in existence for a portion of time now and has yet to understand the world in which we live, hasn’t even scratched the complexities of the universe, and I am sure will always be in marvel of the wonders of God throughout eternity.

The following verses will help us to see the attributes of each person in the Godhead with each Person of the Divine Trinity being co-eternal and co-equal.

God the Father is God and Lord Himself

  • 1 Corinthians 8:6 yet for us there is but one God, the Father, from whom are all things and we exist for Him; and one Lord, Jesus Christ, by whom are all things, and we exist through Him
  • Isaiah 44: 6-8 “Thus says the LORD, the King of Israel and his Redeemer, the LORD of hosts: ‘I am the first and I am the last, And there is no God besides Me. ‘Who is like Me? Let him proclaim and declare it; Yes, let him recount it to Me in order, From the time that I established the ancient nation. And let them declare to them the things that are coming And the events that are going to take place. ‘Do not tremble and do not be afraid; Have I not long since announced it to you and declared it? And you are My witnesses. Is there any God besides Me, Or is there any other Rock? I know of none.'”
  • Isaiah 43:10-13 “You are My witnesses,” declares the LORD, “And My servant whom I have chosen, So that you may know and believe Me And understand that I am He. Before Me there was no God formed, And there will be none after Me. “I, even I, am the LORD, And there is no savior besides Me. “It is I who have declared and saved and proclaimed, And there was no strange god among you; So you are My witnesses,” declares the LORD, “And I am God.”Even from eternity I am He, And there is none who can deliver out of My hand; I act and who can reverse it?”

Jesus Christ is God and Lord Himself

  • John 1:1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.
  • John 1:14 And the Word became flesh, and dwelt among us, and we saw His glory, glory as of the only begotten from the Father, full of grace and truth.
  • Isaiah 9:6 For a child will be born to us, a son will be given to us; And the government will rest on His shoulders; And His name will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Eternal Father, Prince of Peace.
  • Titus 2:13 looking for the blessed hope and the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior, Christ Jesus,
  • Philippians 2:9-11 For this reason also, God highly exalted Him, and bestowed on Him the name which is above every name, so that at the name of Jesus every knee will bow, of those who are in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and that every tongue will confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.
  • Colossians 2:9 For in Him all the fullness of Deity dwells in bodily form,
  • John 14:10 “Do you not believe that I am in the Father, and the Father is in Me? The words that I say to you I do not speak on My own initiative, but the Father abiding in Me does His works.
  • John 10:30 “I and the Father are one.”
  • Revelation 22:13 “I am the Alpha and the Omega, the first and the last, the beginning and the end.”

The Holy Spirit is God and Lord Himself

  • 2 Corinthians 3:17 Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty.
  • Acts 5:3-4 But Peter said, “Ananias, why has Satan filled your heart to lie to the Holy Spirit and to keep back some of the price of the land? “While it remained unsold, did it not remain your own? And after it was sold, was it not under your control? Why is it that you have conceived this deed in your heart? You have not lied to men but to God.”
  • Psalm 139:7 Where can I go from Your Spirit? Or where can I flee from Your presence?
  • Hebrews 9:14 how much more will the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered Himself without blemish to God, cleanse your conscience from dead works to serve the living God?
  • 1 Corinthians 2:11 For who among men knows the thoughts of a man except the spirit of the man which is in him? Even so the thoughts of God no one knows except the Spirit of God.

God is the Father, God is the Son, and God is the Spirit. 1 John 5:7-8 For there are three that testify: the Spirit and the water and the blood; and the three are in agreement.

Thomas N Kirkpatrick

Durant Bible College

wordpress analytics

