header_faith

My beloved Friends

 Somewhere along the road of this journey that I have been traveling I heard an interesting statement that I liked and it goes, I think, like this. “We are not human beings on a spiritual journey, we are spiritual beings on a human journey.” So I have used that thinking how sagely it sounds. We are humans on a spiritual journey but we should live as spiritual beings on a human journey. I recently had a conversation with my eldest brother who pointed out that the flesh and the spirit share the same attributes. There is as we know a battle that rages within us between the flesh and the spirit. I think the problem for some is that we have our attitudes crossed. Too many live as humans of a spiritual journey while the truth should be we are spiritual begins first trapped, for now, in the flesh. We must work to discipline ourselves to live as spirit beings and not as fleshly beings. As the Apostle Paul tells us, “But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not carry out the desire of the flesh.” (Galatians 5:16)

I am, at many interval, caused to ask of myself, who am I. The answers are many, as the life I, and we, lead, becomes very complex in forming one’s complete identity. I am the son of my Father and the Father of my sons. I am the title of my function in this world and known by the product of my labors. Most importantly I am a child of the King baring all responsibility and privilege to His call. It is easy for me to say that the priority of identification rest upon my love and spiritual service towards my God. More difficult to admit my failure to that precise commitment. Is it, my question, that I am only human trying to live a spirit filled life? Or a spirit unable to ignore the apparels of humanity? If only His Kingdom come that I may be free from the chains of my fleshly desires. Then I would be free to express my love for the Lord completely. For now I am on a spiritual journey learning to overcome temptations of the fleshly dwelling which I live in. We are as Jesus taught us slaves to the lust of the flesh. “Jesus answered them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, everyone who commits sin is the slave of sin.” The slave does not remain in the house forever; the son does remain forever. “So if the Son makes you free, you will be free indeed.” (John 8:34-36) The key to the victory that the Lord gives us in the power of His Word. We must internalize as much of His Word as we can, then nothing or no one can take it away from us. “Bind them continually on your heart; Tie them around your neck.” (Proverbs 6:21)

I have decided that I am but a spirit upon a journey trapped within the confines of a human body. We were created in the image of God, “God created man in His own image, in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them.” (Genesis 1:27) Our Lord and Savior knew us long before humanity came into existence. “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places in Christ, just as He chose us in Him before the foundation of the world, that we would be holy and blameless before Him. In love.” (Ephesians 1:3-4) I think Love without commitment is much like Hate without prejudice. God’s commitment of love towards us is without question manifested in the sacrifice of His son upon the cross. We have been given choice to return that devotion or reject it. But the evil one has rule over humanity and leads on a path of deception to confuse our path and boost or destroy our own search for the truth. Our spirit has but one escape from humanity, that only buy the Grace of God and the faith that He gives us in His truth. “Simon Peter, a bond-servant and apostle of Jesus Christ, To those who have received a faith of the same kind as ours, by the righteousness of our God and Savior, Jesus Christ:” (2 Peter 1:1)

I contemplate farther then, if I should question who I am then those about me also decide who I am also. My question then is by what measure shall I be known? I care not to be known only as my Father’s son as he was a man of Grace through the power of God in his own right. Neither could I aspire to usurp the glory of my son’s seeking their own paths. My vocation here also is as fleeting as the dust which blows in the wind. The value then is to be known in the image of He that created me. To live a Christ like life in association with the Grace of the King I serve. “For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain.” (Philippians 1:21) I am then against the very humanity which I must endure and be of service to. “Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit.” (Matthew 28:19)

I am to be: “So we have the prophetic word made more sure, to which you do well to pay attention as to a lamp shining in a dark place, until the day dawns and the morning star arises in your hearts.” (2 Peter 2:19) “You are the salt of the earth; but if the salt has become tasteless, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot by men.” (Matthew 5:13) Most of all, in all that I conduct: “so that with one accord you may with one voice glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ.” (Romans 15:6) It is a long path the journey we choose. Guaranteed in the victory of Jesus over the evils of humanity with which we live. As we travel amongst the world, yet, we must be separate, sanctified, holy from the world we are to minister to.

A new beginning was molded the evening of the Lords Supper. Jesus’s work here near complete and the example made by which our work was to begin. For we are set apart, spirits passing through this place on our way home to the Kingdom Of God, and shall be known by our word and deed. The importance is our deed as it gives value to our word which shall be inspired by His Word. As spirits we must be humble and poor in order to receive His richness in truth. As Christ did the evening of the Lord’s Supper. (John “You call Me Teacher and Lord; and you are right, for so I am.” If I then, the Lord and the Teacher, washed your feet, you also ought to wash one another’s feet. “For I gave you an example that you also should do as I did to you. Truly, truly, I say to you, a slave is not greater than his master, nor is one who is sent greater than the one who sent him. “If you know these things, you are blessed if you do them.” (John 13:13-17) We are ministers to our fellow man that through our love through Christ they may come to know Him. At the Sermon on the Mount Jesus gave eight characters of blessed people, which represent the principal graces of a Christ Like person. The first being: “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.” (Matthew 5:3) We are to despoil our spirits of the influences of humanity and realize that our only worthiness comes as a gift from our Savior and Lord. As Jesus was a serving Master so shall we be a servant to the very humanity which persecutes us. For we are not the high and mighty but the instrument of the High and Mighty. In that vein we are to live in Love and lift all those the Lord sends our way. He died for all not just you and me. Through us the Holy Spirit works His power upon the darkened heart. For this we need to remain poor of spirit, knowing of our need for His power that through us magnifies His Grace for all. “So that the name of our Lord Jesus will be glorified in you, and you in Him, according to the grace of our God and the Lord Jesus Christ.” (2 Thessalonians 1:12)

 Thomas N Kirkpatrick

May 25, 1999

 

wordpress analytics

